Doctoral schools

Doctoral studies

Doctoral schools

The establishment of the UBL doctoral schools, thematically refocused and co-accredited, has been accompanied by the creation of a site doctoral centre to guarantee cross-disciplinary scientific interaction at University level, in particular in relation to preparation for integration into the workplace.

Each doctoral school is supported by teams or laboratories recognised by the Ministry or the CNRS.

The research teams at Le Mans University include some 260 doctoral students. The legal duration of a thesis is 3 years for students benefiting from specific funding.




The doctoral training proposition at Le Mans University is arranged around 10 inter-regional Doctoral Schools: (10doctoral schools)

  • ED ALL - Arts, Lettres, Langues
    ED ALL - Arts, Letters & Languages
  • ED DSP - Droit et Science politique
    ED DSP - Law & Political Science
  • ED ELICC - Éducation, Langage, Interactions, Cognition, Clinique
    ED ELICC - Education, Language, Interactions, Cognition, clinical
  • ED EDGE - sciences Économiques et sciences De Gestion
    ED EDGE - Economics and Management
  • ED EGAAL - Écologie, Géosciences, Agronomie, Alimentation
    ED EGALL - Ecology, Geosciences, Agronomy & Food Sciences
  • ED MathSTIC - Mathématiques STIC
    ED MathSTIC - Mathematics & ICST(Information and Communication Science and Technologies)
  • ED SML - Sciences de la Mer et du Littoral
    ED SML - Marine & Coastal
  • ED SPI - Sciences Pour l'Ingénieur
    ED SPI - Engineering Sciences
  • ED STT - Sociétés, Temps, Territoires
    ED STT - Societies, Time, Territories
  • ED 3M - Matière, Molécules et Matériaux
    ED 3M - Matter, Molecules, Materials




In coordination with the UBL Doctoral School the Le Mans doctoral centre:

  • guarantees cross-disciplinary scientific activity at organisational level,
  • facilitates proximity with doctoral students, their supervisors and research units,
  • ensures the coordination of the site Écoles Doctorales (Doctoral Schools) (ED).

It contains an administrative centre and a Council on which the representatives of the doctoral schools, research units and PhD students sit every month.

Its objectives:

  • Overseeing of doctoral students and PhD holders (registration, training, thesis defence, filing and archiving of theses, monitoring of professional integration, etc.)
  • Cross-disciplinary training programmes whose diversity allows each doctoral student to find a solution for his professional project.
  • Distribution of institution and local authority doctoral contracts, recruitment of contractual doctoral students for additional activity.
  • Support for national and international mobility (participation of doctoral students in conferences, doctoral students registered under joint supervision)
  • Organisation of events (Young Research Forum, My Thesis in 180 seconds competition, inter-ED events)


Contact: poledoctoral @

Share :

Looking for informations ?